The College of Biochemists of Sri Lanka is currently governed by a 12-member Council comprising of President, Vice President, two Joint Secretaries, a Treasurer, Editor and five other council members of whom one is the immediate past president who remains as an ex-officio member.

Each member serves a term of two years in their post, and other than the president, all other office bearers may be re-elected for a second 2-year term. In alternating years of election of the office bearers, a president-elect is nominated, who will take office the following year.

The council meets approximately once a month or once in two months.